Why You Should Choose Fairtrade

WARUM FAIRTRADE
WICHTIG IST

Wir arbeiten mit Fairtrade zusammen, um Baumwolle ethisch zu beschaffen. In diesem Gespräch erklärt Subindu Garkhel, Senior Cotton and Textiles Lead bei Fairtrade, warum es wichtig ist, Fairtrade-Mode zu kaufen.

Was bedeutet es, wenn Baumwolle
zu Fairtrade-Bedingungen beschafft wird?

Das Fairtrade-Baumwoll-Siegel sagt aus, dass Unternehmen eine festgelegte Menge an Rohbaumwolle auf Fairtrade-Basis kaufen und verwenden. Somit können Unternehmen ihre Lieferkette langsam nach und nach umstellen, und die Menge an Fairtrade Baumwolle kontinuierlich erhöhen, können diese aber am Anfang mit konventioneller Baumwolle vermischen. Die Fairtrade-Bauern profitieren trotzdem von Anfang an, da Sie mehr Baumwolle verkaufen, was wiederum ihnen und ihren Gemeinschaften zugute kommt.

What is Fairtrade sourced cotton?
How did the initiative get started?

Wie begann Fairtrade?

Fairtrade ist eine globale Bewegung, die im Vereinigten Königreich durch die Fairtrade Foundation repräsentiert wird. Diese wurde 1992 von CAFOD, Christian Aid, Oxfam, Traidcraft, Global Justice Now und der National Federation of Women’s Institutes gegründet. Die hunderten von Städten, Schulen, Universitäten, Glaubensgruppen und engagierten Unterstützer sind für uns unerlässlich, um unsere Fairtrade-Vision Realität werden zu lassen.

Seit wann gibt es
die Fairtrade Initiative?

Die innovative Beschaffungsstrategie des Mengenausgleichs wurde 2014 eingeführt und ermöglicht es Unternehmen und Marken, Einzelbestandteile zu beschaffen sowie Verbrauchern größere Nachvollziehbarkeit und ein breiteres Angebot von ethisch vertretbaren und nachhaltig beschafften Produkten anzubieten.

How long has Fairtrade worked on this initiative?
Why did you feel it was an important global issue to support?

Warum ist es so wichtig,
dieses globale Thema
zu unterstützen?

Aufgrund einer hohen Analphabetenquote und begrenztem Landbesitz leben viele Baumwollbauern unter der Armutsgrenze und sind von Mittelsmännern abhängig, die ihre Baumwolle zu weniger als den Herstellungskosten kaufen.
Hinzu kommt, dass steigende Produktionskosten, fallende Renditen, der Klimawandel sowie die Preisinflation bei Nahrungsmitteln und Lebensmittelknappheit den Alltag erschweren. Die Komplexität der Lieferkette von Baumwolle und von Textilien im Allgemeinen bedeutet, dass Bauern selbst wenig Einfluss haben, um bessere Preise verhandeln zu können.

Mit welchen Baumwollfarmen
arbeitet Fairtrade zusammen?

Fairtrade arbeitet mit kleinen Baumwollfarmen in Asien und Afrika zusammen und hilft ihnen dabei, Bauern-Vereinigungen zu bilden. Dies ist wichtig, da Bauern durch die gemeinsame Zusammenarbeit bei Verhandlungen mit Händlern viel mehr erreichen sowie ihre Gemeinschaften somit besser unterstützen können.

Which cotton farms does Fairtrade work with?
How does the Fairtrade Cotton Minimum and Premium benefit...?

Wie helfen der Baumwoll-Mindestpreis und die Fairtrade-Prämie den Bauern?

Erzeugerorganisationen werden regelmäßig anhand von Fairtrade-Standards geprüft, um nachhaltige Produktionsverfahren zu entwickeln, die langfristig von ökonomischem, sozialem und ökologischem Vorteil für Bauern und ihre Gemeinschaften sind.
Der Fairtrade-Mindestpreis besteht, um die durchschnittlichen Kosten für nachhaltige Produktion zu decken und dient für die Bauern als Sicherheitsnetz, wenn der Marktpreis unter einen nachhaltigen Wert fällt.
Die Fairtrade-Prämie ist ein Zusatz zum Kaufpreis und kann von den Bauern nach Belieben in Projekte ihrer Wahl investiert werden. Die Bauern entscheiden gemeinsam, ob sie die Prämie zum Beispiel in verbesserte Anbaumethoden, andere Unternehmen oder die Gesundheit und Bildung ihrer Gemeinschaft stecken wollen.

Welche Erkenntnisse hat Fairtrade
in den letzten
Jahren gewonnen?

Seit seiner Gründung unterstützt Fairtrade über 1.7 Millionen Kleinbauern und Arbeiter. Dennoch sind wir immer noch weit von vielen unserer ehrgeizigen Ziele entfernt. Wir arbeiten auf eine Handelswelt hinzu, die Chancen und Integration für alle ermöglicht.
Die globalen Herausforderungen, denen wir gegenüberstehen, sind alle eng miteinander verbunden. Armut hängt stark mit Ungleichheit zusammen, während ausufernde Entwicklungen der Umwelt schaden. Im Kampf gegen Kinderarbeit und Zwangsarbeit müssen wir zuerst nachhaltige Lebensgrundlagen anstreben. Auch die soziale Ungleichheit zwischen Männern und Frauen ist ein Hindernis, das noch überwunden werden muss.
Fairtrade kann diese Dinge nicht alleine bewältigen und arbeitet deshalb mit Regierungen, Unternehmen, Bürgergesellschaften, Arbeitern und Bauern zusammen, um seine Ambitionen Realität werden zu lassen.

What has Fairtrade learned along the way?
How have brands like White Stuff helped support the Fairtrade message?

Wie unterstützen Firmen
wie White Stuff Fairtrade?

Firmen wie White Stuff, die auf nachhaltige Lieferketten hinarbeiten, sind ein essenzieller Bestandteil des Fairtrade Systems. Indem sie Fairtrade-Produkte beschaffen und sich für die Verwendung der Fairtrade-Siegel lizenzieren lassen, ermöglichen sie es Bauern und Arbeitern von Fairtrade-Unternehmen, ihre Zukunft selbst in die Hand zu nehmen.
Dadurch bieten sie auch Verbrauchern eine ständig wachsende Vielzahl an nachhaltig beschafften, unabhängig zertifizierten Produkten und beweisen, dass Handel für alle besser, fair und nachhaltig gestaltet werden kann.

Why You Should Choose Fairtrade

Why You Should
Choose Fairtrade

We’re committed to working with Fairtrade to source cotton in an ethical way. Here Subindu Garkhel, Senior Cotton and Textiles Lead at Fairtrade, tells us why buying Fairtrade makes a huge difference.

What is Fairtrade
sourced cotton?

Fairtrade Sourced Cotton model makes it easier for businesses to source some of their cotton on Fairtrade terms. This way, farmers can sell more of their cotton, which means more benefits for them and their communities. The Fairtrade Cotton Program Mark means that a business buys an agreed amount of raw cotton on Fairtrade terms to use throughout their product ranges. It means the cotton doesn't have to be kept separate, allowing businesses to scale up their Fairtrade commitment.

What is Fairtrade sourced cotton?
How did the initiative get started?

How did the initiative
get started?

Fairtrade is a global movement with a strong and active presence in the UK, represented by the Fairtrade Foundation, established in 1992 by CAFOD, Christian Aid, Oxfam, Traidcraft, Global Justice Now, and the National Federation of Women’s Institutes. Our hundreds of Fairtrade Towns, Schools and Universities, Faith Groups and committed supporters are vital in helping us realise our vision of fairtrade.

How long has
Fairtrade worked on this initiative?

This innovative sourcing model was introduced in 2014 as it offers ways for companies and brands to source individual ingredients, and give consumers greater choice and transparency of ethically and sustainably sourced products.

How long has Fairtrade worked on this initiative?
Why did you feel it was an important global issue to support?

Why did you feel it was
an important global
issue to support?

With high levels of illiteracy and limited land holdings, many cotton farmers live below the poverty line and are dependent on middle men or ginners who often buy their cotton at prices below the cost of production.
Rising costs of production, fluctuating market prices, decreasing yields and climate change are daily challenges, along with food price inflation and food insecurity. The notorious complexity of the cotton and textile supply chain means that farmers have little power to negotiate with others in the chain to secure better prices.

Which cotton farms
does Fairtrade
work with?

Fairtrade works with small-scale cotton farmers in Asia and Africa and helps build stronger farmer-owned organisations. This is important because farmers can achieve a lot more together as a group in negotiations with ginners and traders or in supporting the local community.

Which cotton farms does Fairtrade work with?
How does the Fairtrade Cotton Minimum and Premium benefit...?

How does the Fairtrade price and premium benefit the farmers better than farming conventional cotton?

Producer organisations are audited against Fairtrade Standards, which provide a framework for a sustainable approach to production that can have long-term economic, social and environmental benefits for farmers and their communities.
The Fairtrade Minimum Price aims to cover the average costs of sustainable production and acts as a safety net for farmers at times when market prices fall below a sustainable level.
The Fairtrade Premium is an extra sum of money, paid on top of the selling price, that farmers or workers invest in projects of their choice. They decide together how to spend the Fairtrade Premium, such as improving their farming, businesses, or health and education in their community.

What has Fairtrade
learned along
the way?

Since its beginning, Fairtrade has grown to represent over 1.7 million small-scale farmers and workers. But we are still far from achieving our ambitious goal of a world where trade can be a true tool of opportunity and inclusion for all.
The challenges the world faces are intricately interconnected. We cannot address poverty until we address inequality; rampant development exacerbates climate change; any approach to eradicating child labour and forced labour must address sustainable livelihoods throughout value chains; and a lack of equal rights for women inhibits progress across the board.
Fairtrade cannot achieve this alone, but by working in partnership with governments, with companies, with civil society and with farmers and workers – this ambition for the world can become reality.

What has Fairtrade learned along the way?
How have brands like White Stuff helped support the Fairtrade message?

How have brands
like White Stuff
helped support the
Fairtrade message?

Companies like White Stuff, that are seeking sustainable supply chains are a critical component of the Fairtrade system – by sourcing Fairtrade products and licensing the FAIRTRADE Marks, they support farmers and workers at Fairtrade producer organizations to take more control over their own futures.
These businesses also offer shoppers an ever-increasing variety of ethically sourced, independently certified choices, showing trade can be fairer, more sustainable and better for all involved.